Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)

30 Day Book Challenge – Day 23

This is a curious case.  I enjoyed reading this particular book, I just never got around to finishing it.  And yes, I am guilty of claiming that I have indeed read it.  Alas, the cat is now out of the bag; I have not read (or finished reading) the Dickens classic, Great Expectations.

I do, however, promise to rectify the error of my ways.  I won’t stop declaring that I’ve read it, but I will try and make sure that in the not so distant future I have actually done so.

~storytelling nomad~

20 comments on “Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)

  1. This is an interesting book challenge. I don’t know if I’ve ever told someone I read a book I actually hadn’t. I’ve told people I *haven’t* read a book or seen a movie when I have so they don’t feel bad about giving it as a gift.

    • Ha ha! Yes, that does call for a bit of white lying doesn’t it?
      Don’t get me wrong, I don’t go around proclaiming I’ve read books I haven’t, but when people are discussing this book, I’ll usually throw in a noncommittal comment or two implying I’ve read it. Sneaky sneaky!

  2. I haven’t read that either. Actually I’ve never read any of the classics. Also, I echo Angela’s comment pretty much exactly!

    That being said, do you think you could point me in the direction of a list of these book challenges? I’d like to peruse it and possibly do it myself :D If it’s not somewhere online already, you can email it to me: naturedaughter@hotmail.com~ :)

  3. I’ve started reading Moby Dick quite a few times, but never finished. It’s not that I don’t enjoy it, it’s just a bit slow and I get distracted with other books. But I always count myself as having ‘read it’ when I see it on ‘must-read’ lists etc :P

    I WILL finish it one day!

  4. Ahhh… good one! Sadly I have to admit that mine is “Oil” by Upton Sinclair. I love, love, LOVED The Jungle and ran right out and bought “Oil” in order to become further disgusted and further disenfranchised with the “establishment”… but I got bored and probably put it down for some semi-flaky chick lit instead. ;)

    • Ha! Yes, I probably put down the classic for something not so esteemed also! But sometimes a literary masterpiece just doesn’t cut it!

    • I’m all for the verbose, I just have to be in the right frame of mind to appreciate and enjoy it I suppose. I was never bored, but other books just caught my attention at the time and I never got back to it…sigh.

  5. I’ve never actually said that I’ve read the entirety of Inferno but I’ve certainly implied it…
    I haven’t read Great Expectations, or even started it. I keep meaning to…

  6. I tell people I’ve read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but I actually skimmed the last 100 pages. The book wasn’t well written to begin with (though it has many good aspects) and when I saw that the final mystery was solved and there were more than 100 page left to go, mostly emails the characters write to each other, I started skimming.

    I was honest about it on my blog: http://u-town.com/collins/?p=816. And I don’t feel embarassed, because I think the fault was (at least mostly) not mine.

    • I quite enjoyed the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but never finished the series. I’m not a huge fan of crime/thriller books due to the fact that I’m quite easily terrorised by scary scenes and suspense! I started having nightmares so stopped reading mid way through book three…ha!

    • You know, I quite enjoyed Frankenstein. I remember reading it in school and being quite surprised that Frankenstein wasn’t the name of the monster but his maker. It does sound like a pretty good name for a monster though, doesn’t it?

      Thanks for sharing your link, I’ll check it out!

      • It makes an excellent name for a monster which is probably why people get confused.
        I must admit I get quite annoyed when people refer to the monster as Frankenstein, which is very hypocritical of me since I’ve never read the book! Lol!

Leave a comment