I want my potty!

Favorite picture book from childhood

30 Day Book Challenge – Day 21

This one sticks in mind by far as my most memorable picture book from childhood.  I Want My Potty by Tony Ross is the story of a little princess who decides that nappies are, in her words, “YUUECH!” and  resolves to go cold turkey and start her potty training.

Of course, she learns the hard way that needing to use the potty and actually making it to the potty in time, are two entirely different matters.  As such, she spends the whole book running around her princess palace screaming I WANT MY POTTY!

The pictures of her red-faced screaming and sitting on her potty with her L plates are spectacular.

And yes, as an adult, I’m still partial to a bit of toilet humour.

~storytelling nomad~

8 comments on “I want my potty!

    • I don’t know that I’ve read any of the other Little Princess books…perhaps I didn’t have time when I kept reading this one? ;)

  1. LOL – love it. Nothing wrong with retaining a little bit of “toilet humor” into adulthood.

    Mine would have to be Fables by Arnold Lobel. I remember each fable was one page, and the opposite page had a full color illustration to accompany the story. I remember the pictures were so vibrant and imaginative at the time.

    I also remember having a children’s book of “The Nightingale” by Hans Christian Andersen that had very intricate illustrations. Can’t remember which version of the book I had, but it was back in the ’80’s.

    • Oh, some of the Hans Christian Andersen books are brilliant aren’t they? Fables sounds good too…I don’t think I read that one.

      Nothing wrong with retaining that toilet humour at all I say!

  2. You can’t beat a bit of potty humour, as my 4yo son and 7yo daughter are constantly reminding me (favourite words bum, bottom and boobies).

    I love the little princess books, but I also love the telly adaptation because any kids’s program that manages to get Julian Clary doing the voice over can only be adored.

    i love Julian Clary and I miss Fanny the Wonderdog.

    • Fanny the Wonderdog?! I have never heard of it but it sounds sensational! I do have a vague memory of the little princess telly adaptation, but it’s been so long since I’ve seen it that I might have to do a little youtube search and refresh my memory.

      P.s. Who wouldn’t list bum, bottom and boobies in their top three?!

Leave a Reply

