L is for London

The London Eye

What is there, really, to be said about London that hasn’t been said before?

It’s a city that doesn’t feel like a city. Somehow Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Piccadilly, The London Eye, Trafalgar Square, they all make this modern metropolis feel like a venerable kingdom. Not to mention that English accent I once possessed and now soak in hungrily in futile attempts to retrieve it.

I mentioned in a previous post that cities intimidate me. The hustle and bustle and pushing and shoving doesn’t make for a pleasant day, in my opinion, but for some reason I always feel at home in London despite all that. There’s just an air of opportunity about it.

I get the feeling that if I was looking for something, I would find it in London.

Apart from one remarkable event, which will be detailed in another post, I have little to report on my short stay in this celebrated city. I saw the sites for the upteenth time, and for the upteenth time I enjoyed every minute of it. I enjoyed food as only the English enjoy food, stuffing myself with fish and chips, pub meals and a special outing at Jamie Oliver’s restaurant Jamie’s Italian. To top it all off I was graced with unseasonably mild weather and blue skies.

For that, London, I thank you.

I am such a tourist

Clouds sweep over London

The Palace of Westminister and Big Ben under blue skies

Dinner at Jamie Oliver's restaurant

Trafalgar Square

The tube

28 comments on “L is for London

  1. Great post!

    I’m a born and bred Londoner, but I live just outside of the city now.

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit :) The thing I like most about my home town is that there is always something to do or see 365 days of the year.

    I LOVE it :)

    Xx

  2. Your photos are a great reminder of a place that is close to my hear as well.

    It’s such a great idea to take photos of your favorite menus! My husband is a chef and when we travel, we always end up with some menus to take home. We will have to take photos of them the next time around!

    • You know what, I actually have a box full of menus. They serve as a reminder of the good food, conversation and company that sometimes gets forgotten.

      P.S. How lucky to have a chef for a husband. Envious!

  3. “I am such a tourist”

    Nothing wrong with that. London ought to be enjoyed, and if that’s by doing touristy things, so be it. Personally, I consider it very remiss of me that I don’t have a picture of myself in a red phonebox. In fact, I intend to do something about that the next time I’m in the city.

    I have to admit, the hustle and bustle and pushing and shoving doesn’t appeal to me either, which is why there are some places in London I tried to avoid, Oxford Street being one of them. But there’s a lot of hustle and bustle in Covent Garden too, and that’s my favourite place in London. It’s not an unfriendly hustle and bustle, or the kind that would knock you flying without a second thought. it’s the kind that you might find in a Christmas market, a friendly kind. The December before last, my mum and I booked ourselves into London serviced apartments and we had a weekend in Covent Garden. We didn’t really do much, just wandered round the markets and the shops, and ate more than our fair share of chestnuts. But it’s still one of the best holidays I’ve had, and I think it had a lot to do with that lovely atmosphere.

    • I went to Covent Garden too, and you’re right, it has an agreeable, friendly busyness about it. And photos in phone booths really are all the rage these days…no really ;)

  4. I adore London and all of it’s beauty! It’s one of my my Die Hard wishes to live there! It’s just such a breathtaking place. Much like New York but it’s not crowded and full of smog.

    Lovely Photos! ♥

  5. Pingback: XYZ is for the End of a Journey | storytelling nomad

  6. I love–LOVE LOVE LOVE!–London. And why not, right? It’s a totally foreign country where they all speak English. Talk about the perfect European getaway for your average Yankee.

Leave a Reply

