A shaky start to 30 days and 30 nights of literary abandon

I got this dammit!

I have been waiting in high anticipation to embark on my very first NaNoWriMo, counting down the days until November 1st and jotting down potential ideas for my pantster approach to the 50,000 words in 30 days challenge.  The excitement was building, as were the nerves, and the thought of ending the month of November with 50,000 words was electrifying.

Of course it was bound to happen. You know that thing, where life falls apart right before something really important.

Rude.

As it turned out, November 1st came and passed sadly by as I wallowed in my sorrows and indulged in a mental health day involving lots of chocolate and reading and sleeping (and staring at walls), and not one word of writing goodness. Sigh.

So there I was this morning, November 2nd, 207 unread emails in my inbox, a suitcase to unpack and already behind on my daily wordcount.

But life goes on, and all that jazz, so today I read and responded to all those emails and soldiered through my first 1,712 words. JOY! My suitcase remains unpacked, but it’s at the very least placed neatly in the corner of my room. Who needs clean clothes to write anyway?

I realise I’m still behind, and obviously when such is the case it’s obligatory to procrastinate a great deal and instead write insignificant rambles on your blog rather than get on with the actual work, but hey, what can ya do?

So forwards and onwards with the task at hand. My fellow NaNo writing buddies have provided much inspiration with their impressive word counts so far; Stef at Dodging Commas has already reached 9,200 words. She is clearly a crazy person, but good to have around for motivational purposes.

How’s everyone else going after day 1?

My username is storytellingnomad, for the rest of you WriMos out there looking for writing buddies.  In the meantime, happy writing!

N.B. I pinched the accompanying image from a fellow blogger some weeks ago now but can’t for the life of me remember who it was. I sincerely thank you for the laughs though.

~storytelling nomad~

18 comments on “A shaky start to 30 days and 30 nights of literary abandon

  1. I kind of went crazy… I started writing at midnight on November 1st, and then wrote from 10PM until now, still on November 1st, and so I’ve got more than 5000 words already ^_^”. Haha. Whoops. Overzealous? Just a bit. Thing is, I’ve been waiting SO eagerly for NaNo to start, that I really feel like I was revving up this whole time and then finally just gave a burst of speed today.

    • Well that makes me feel a thousand times better! Phew! Weekends don’t mean much to me because I work from home, but I am hoping to make up for it sooner rather than later. A late night burst of creativity tonight perhaps?!

  2. Crazy people are definitely excellent motivators – if anything, they make you run like mad (in the opposite direction).

    Congratulations on starting – many people don’t! And I strongly encourage days in bed – they give the muse a temporary rest until you’re ready again. Don’t be hard yourself, be happy and write =D

    • You are truly wonderful, Stef! Craziness and all! :) Yep, I’m taking a break now to catch up on stuff since being interstate for a week. Planning on going hard again tonight, although I’m not sure it will be quite the 10,000 words of going hard you seem to have achieved so far…you loony!

      Can’t wait to read it!

  3. I’m at 1800+, but I’m adding words to an already written short story collection. Keep up the good work. Once you get through the first 1000, the next 40k flow like water. I know it doesn’t seem like it now, but they will.

    • I think it’s definitely a case of keeping up the momentum. If I stop I’ll lose stamina and/or interest, so your advice is sound; a few words a day!

  4. I’ve punched in 3,000 words so far … but I kind of jumped from the middle of chapter one to possible chapter three. -_-

    Oh well. Still 3,000 words! I don’t have a lot of time on my hands, between writing up a marketing campaign and dealing with lots and lots of ads/signs. But I do what I can.

    I’ll cross my fingers for both of us to do well!

  5. I was wondering what those letters NaNoWriMo stood for. This is my first November as a blogger, so I didn’t really get it! I’m glad that I visited your blog, and that you explained it so well. Good luck and I hope you accomplish your goal.

    This is something I could think about doing next year!

    • Glad I could be of service! This is my first November as a blogger and a NaNoWriMo participant, so I’m still learning the ropes myself. Look forward to seeing you participate next year! ;)

  6. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update: Day 10 | storytelling nomad

Leave a Reply

