Mind blowing cover art

If you’ve been feeling at all like something is amiss in your life of late, it is in all likelihood due to the absence of my Robin Hobb idolisation posts. Never fear, dear readers! Today I came across Jackie Morris’s cover art for City of Dragons, the soon to be released third volume in Robin Hobb’s Rainwild Chronicles.

And can I just say WOW.

I’ve mentioned before how much I love the cover art for the re-released editions of Hobb’s books.  Jackie Morris is responsible for them all, and not only are they stunning, but they also look pretty damn good on my bookshelf.  I would frame these covers and hang them on my wall if I could.

Head on over to Jackie’s blog to see the newest Hobb cover art in progress, or her website to see more of her amazing work.

Cover art for City of Dragons designed by Jackie Morris

I’m a self confessed judge-a-book-by-its-cover person. I’m not proud of it, but I can’t help but be mesmerised by good cover art and be completely put off by the less appealing covers. When the excellent quality of a book matches its cover, my life is complete.

I’m currently restraining myself from purchasing some of the new Penguin Clothbound Classics, which I already own in other editions but which are soooo pretty!  I was also lucky enough to work at Penguin with designer Daniel New when he was putting together Maggie Beer’s Maggie’s Harvest, an absolutely stunning cover.

Have you got any judge-a-book-by-its-cover moments? Favourite covers?

Penguin Clothbound Classic collection

Maggie’s Harvest by Maggie Beer – Designed by Daniel New

~storytelling nomad~

14 comments on “Mind blowing cover art

  1. I try not to make decisions entirely based on cover art, but I admit to being swayed by it. It’s hard not to be, though; there are so many books to choose from in any shop (physical or online) that you visit, I suppose one has to have some method of pre-selection. And you can’t exactly read every synopsis on every page.

    Once in a while, though, I come across a great book with a really boring cover and I realise, horrifically, how much I probably miss by being attracted by shininess.

    Have to say, that Hobb cover wouldn’t catch my eye though.

    • I know what you mean, Charlotte. It’s a sobering thought to think that I’m passing by great stories just because the covers haven’t caught my attention. To be fair though, these days I typically read by recommendation, which means I’m rarely put in a position where I need to choose a book by its cover. Of course, that doesn’t stop me ordering the edition with the best looking cover ;)

  2. I like the ancient paper look to Morris’s covers. I bought a book once because the cover was stunning with colors and the fantasy picture. I never finished reading the book though. Cover art definitely catches my eye, but I don’t judge a book by it anymore. I think the cover should always reflect the feel of the story.

    • I have been so disappointed in the past when reading a really pretty book only to find that the story is awful. And yet I get sucked in every time by the shininess! There’s no hope for me!

  3. I love book covers. I’m a graphic designer, so I can’t help it. :)
    Favorites: Of late, I’ve really been digging the original printing of John le Carre’s Quest for Karla trilogy. The covers are simply typographical, but they’re rather striking.


    Not really mind-blowing, but striking and attention grabbing.

    And yes, I judge books by their covers.

    • I find it interesting that such simple designs can be so striking. Very cool and thanks for sharing! Also glad I’m not the only one judging by covers ;)

  4. I love the re-release covers of classics as done by Vintage. Simple, but striking!

    http://www.vintage-books.co.uk/books/1407019465/bram-stoker/dracula/

    http://www.vintage-books.co.uk/books/0099511584/robert-louis-stevenson/dr-jekyll-and-mr-hyde-and-other-stories/

    http://www.vintage-books.co.uk/books/1407087355/lewis-carroll/alice-s-adventures-in-wonderland-and-through-the-looking-glass/

    There is a lot of pressure when it comes to choosing the “right” book cover, because despite the saying, EVERYONE judges the book by its cover to some degree!

  5. I’ve been so tempted to buy those new covered classics… but so far have resisted – they do look so good. I totally fall for covers and sometimes buy them just for the cover… very guilty of that indeed.

Leave a Reply

