Humour, flirting, and education at the coffee table

30 Day Book Challenge – Day 30

Favorite coffee table book

Well here we are.  The final day of the 30 Day Book Challenge.  Who would have thought we’d make it this far?  I certainly had my doubts.  There were good times, bad times, an extended deadline, and a few unexpected intermissions, but 30 books and 57 days later we reached the finish line.  Woo!

I’m mildly disappointed that Day 30 has to end with my ‘favourite coffee table book’, seeing as I don’t actually own a coffee table.  I would’ve liked to end with a BANG! Like, the most expensive book you ever bought.  Or the best book EVER created in the entire universe!  But alas, what am I if I cannot improvise in the face of a challenge?

So let’s see.  If I had a coffee table, what book would I like to live permanently upon it?  I’m going to go with the Lonely Planet Italian Phrasebook.  I purchased this book when I was 16 before heading to Italy for the very first time.  It was truly invaluable, but also highly entertaining.

My friends, English and Italian alike, would always find great pleasure in reading certain sections of this book, particularly that relating to dating, romance and sex.  Subtitles such as “Breaking the Ice”, “Classic Rejections”, “Making Love” and “Afterwards”, may give you some idea as to the sort of ‘phrases’ they included for a traveller’s convenience.

The best included:

‘Do you come here often?’ – Vieni spesso qui?

‘You’re not my type.’ – Non sei il mio tipo.

‘You turn me on.’ – Mi ecciti.

‘Was it good for you?’ – Ti è piacuto?

‘Faster!’ – Più veloce!

I can only imagine being in the sort of situations that require these phrases and asking the other person to “just hold on a moment while I consult my phrasebook.  Ah yes, Più veloce!”

Ha.

In any case, I think it would keep people interested and entertained when they come over for coffee.  Don’t you?

~storytelling nomad~

14 comments on “Humour, flirting, and education at the coffee table

  1. What? I agree, this is so not the type of book to end on. I’ve never even had a coffee table book.

    Hm, I’d go for best book steal ever. I worked for a store that put all the Narnia books into one hardcover with illustrations. I waited for those books to go on sale, then combined with my employee discount, I bought five for about 50 bucks. :-D They made great Christmas presents.

  2. Likewise, no coffee table, but my book for one would either be whatever I am currently reading (Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince, again) or one of the many books that have as yet sat on my book shelf, unread. Probably start with Robin Hobb’s Assassin Apprentice since you have been so gracefully gushing over for as long as I’ve been reading your blog! :D

    • Gracefully? Really? Well, I haven’t scared you away yet, so thanks for sticking out the Hobb frenzy with me!

      Love the Half-Blood Prince! I think I’ll be wanting to re-read the Harry Potter books til I’m old and grey. I’m sure I’ll one day have to fight my children for them…

  3. I’m glad you got through the challenge – I am still making my way through after about three months! Yes, “favourite coffee table book” is somewhat anti-climatic, but you chose a good one!

  4. Italian phrase books are hilarious. Before studying in Italy, a friend gave me a “Dirty Italian” book. It didn’t come in particularly useful, but my friends and I had a blast laughing over the ‘key phrases’ included.

    My coffee table book (for when I have a coffee table) will probably be my book of Mick Rock’s photographs of Queen.

    • There exists such a thing!? I must have it! Although admittedly, I already own something similar in the form of scraps of paper with dirty Italian phrases listed on them; my Italian classmates were most eager to educate me in the ‘colloquial’ language whilst I was on my three month exchange program there.

      Also, good choice for coffee table book!

      • There does indeed! I have more inappropriate Italian books than I do serious ones…Berlitz published one called “Hide This Italian Book.” Which is a bit cleaner than the other one I own. Haha!
        Sadly, when I was in Italy, I was at an American school, so I didn’t have any Italian classmates to teach me the colloquial language.

        Thanks! I’m looking forward to proudly putting that one on display. :)

  5. Funny! Of course, I’m totally lost when it comes to the Italian language. BUT I do have fun guessing what certain words/phrases mean, especially since some kind of sound like their Spanish equivalents. Nonetheless, I think this would make for a fun, interesting read.

    Truth be told, I have no idea what my pick would be for my ‘coffee table book’ would be. Maybe it’s because I also don’t own a coffee table? Just maybe? Haha. And I’ve got too many favorites to sort through and pick out just one.

    =)

    • I am the same with Spanish, guessing the words from their Italian equivalents :)

      I am almost positive that it is because you don’t have a coffee table. It makes all the difference! Or so I hear….

Leave a Reply

