Book whose main character is most like you

30 Day Book Challenge – Day 13

Matilda Wormwood from Roald Dahl’s Matilda.

If you haven’t already noticed, I’m kind of obsessed with books and reading.  In this, Matilda and I are one and the same.  I do appear to be lacking in the psychokinetic powers that Matilda possesses, although I’ve made peace with that considering I was lucky enough not to have the savage parents Matilda had, nor her frightening teacher Miss Trunchbull.

Anyone else have a fictional literary double?

Matilda by Roald Dahl

~storytelling nomad~

20 comments on “Book whose main character is most like you

    • To be honest, I’m not just Matilda. I am a literary character salad! On a good day I am Elizabeth Bennet, witty and educated…on a bad day I am Bella Swan…winging and whining at every opportunity. If you do think of a character, you must let me know!

  1. Ahh, good answer!

    Today was Day 10 of the Challenge for me, so I still have some time to think, but right now I haven’t the foggiest what my idea will be…

    (I once did a Film Challenge on Facebook that had its equivalent of this question. My answer was Napoleon Dynamite: I’m quirky for the sake of being quirky; nothing much happens in my life, yet it is still somehow interesting; and I can strike you as someone YOU may not like, but others might.)

    ;o)

    • Oh. my. god. I love Napoleon Dynamite, so by default I love you also. There, I said it.
      That is such a good answer too. I can’t wait to see what you come up with for the book challenge answer!

  2. Hi, Katy, What an interesting time I had trying to think of a fictional literary double of myself. I imagine myself as being a bit like Dangerous Davies, the bumbling policeman, created by Leslie Thomas, who always gets his man, eventually. I’m not a policeman, though a bit of a bumbler, I always get there in the end.

    • I’m not familiar with Leslie Thomas but Dangerous Davies sounds like a fantastic literary double! And very cool name too. Thank you Mister Dangerous Davies for stopping by and commenting!

      • That’s OK, Katy, I’m just starting to set up my own blog at the moment and struggling a bit with it. I actually got quite a long way with it a few days ago and then deleted the whole lot by mistake. But I’ve started again, and in my own bumbling Dangerous Davies way, I’ll get there in the end.

  3. Jo March! From Little Women. Although she’s not the sole protagonist in the book.

    My mum always made us read classics (along with other stuff, of course) when we were growing up. But somehow, I bypassed Little Women without reading it.

    I was going through my ‘tomboy’ phase at the time and I’ve always had the worst temper that I know of that usually leads to damage. One afternoon, after a big blow up and a couple of broken plates, Mum handed me the book quietly, without even telling me off. One of the most memorable incidents of my life!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • What a great story! Your mum clearly knows her stuff! I was never really into the classics when I was little, but now that I’m older I love them because they’re a guaranteed good read. There is so much crap published out there that sometimes it’s nice just to go back to a literary great and know that it’s not going to let you down!
      Thanks for stopping by Amrita! :)

  4. Beatrice Prior from Divergent. Honestly, not only do I look exactly like how she’s descirbed in the book, we have a lot of the same opinions and similar personality traits, and I’d make the same choices as her in most situations. :)

Leave a Reply

