30 Day Book Challenge – Day 7

Book that you can quote/recite

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I can’t recite the whole thing, but I do like to randomly drop quotes into casual conversation.  Also, I attribute remembering so much of this book to the BBC series adaptation, which I have watched a kazillion times, and is simply amazing.

Here are some of the best bits:

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.

She is tolerable; but not handsome enough to tempt me.”

You expect me to account for opinions which you choose to call mine, but which I have never acknowledged.

“My feelings in every respect forbid it. Can I speak plainer? Do not consider me now as an elegant female, intending to plague you, but as a rational creature, speaking the truth from her heart.”

“An unhappy alternative is before you, Elizabeth. From this day you must be a stranger to one of your parents. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.”

“Here are officers enough in Meryton to disappoint all the young ladies in the country.”

“You ought to know, that I am not to be trifled with. But however insincere YOU may choose to be, you shall not find ME so.”

“You expect me to account for opinions which you choose to call mine, but which I have never acknowledged.“

“In vain have I struggled,it will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

“From the very beginning— from the first moment, I may almost say— of my acquaintance with you, your manners, impressing me with the fullest belief of your arrogance, your conceit, and your selfish disdain of the feelings of others, were such as to form the groundwork of disapprobation on which succeeding events have built so immovable a dislike; and I had not known you a month before I felt that you were the last man in the world whom I could ever be prevailed on to marry.”

~storytelling nomad~

9 comments on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 7

  1. The only thing I can quote from this book is:
    In vain have I struggled,it will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you

  2. *shudder* Pride and Prejudice… My old enemy…

    ;)

    To be fair, even through my distaste of the book, I’ve always remembered that very first line. The things my brain chooses to retain, honestly!

    • I thought of your post when I wrote this. I’m sorry! But I’m happy to see you acknowledge it as a quotable book, even if it is just the first line ;)

  3. Pingback: Favorite book you read in school « storytelling nomad

Leave a Reply

