30 Day Book Challenge – Day 6

Favorite young adult book

Dammit, I already used Harry Potter for yesterday’s book challenge theme!

I used to love the His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman.  Oh, then there was the Abhorsen trilogy by Garth Nix. But no, I think I’m going to go with another Australian series; the Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody, which are still being published.  If you haven’t heard of this award winning series, here’s the blurb from the back of the first book:

In my dream I was somewhere cold and darkly quiet.  I could hear water dripping and I was afraid, though I did not know why.  In the distance there was a bright flash of light.  A high-pitched whining noise filled the air like a scream, but no one could scream for so long without stopping to breathe.

In a world struggling back from the brink of the apocalypse, life is harsh.   But for Elspeth Gordie, born with enhanced mental abilities that would see her sterilised or burned if discovered, it is also dangerous.  There is only survival by secrecy, and so she determines never to use her forbidden powers.  But it is as if they have their own imperative, and their use inevitably brings her to the attention of the totalitarian Council that rules the Land.

Sent to the remote mountain institution of Obernewtyn where escape is impossible, she must throw off her safe cloak of concealment and pit herself against those who would resurrect the terrible forces of the apocalypse.

Only then will she learn most truly who and what she is…

I’m not usually a fan of books with a futuristic setting, but these work for me because in the story, the apocolyptic event that caused havoc on the world forces people to turn back to more primitive and medieval ways of living, albeit with certain magical influences.  Isobelle started writing this series when she was in High School and now, as an adult, she continues the story of Elspeth and her destiny to save the world (of course!).

Also, it was only recently that I met Isobelle at a book signing, and she was just lovely.

Your world rocks, Isobelle!

~storytelling nomad~

4 comments on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 6

    • Hoorah! I’d love to reread His Dark Materials sometime soon….only, I now have in mind the images from the movie, which sadly I was disappointed with :(

Leave a Reply

