Go Go Gadget, Write!

Today marks the first day of the National Young Writer’s Month, with the idea to set yourself a writing goal and reach that goal with the support of the NaYoWriMo community.  I’ve set myself three goals, which I think are pretty reasonable – I hate disappointing myself with unrealistic goals.  Number 2 is going to be the troublesome middle child.

  1. Join a local writers’ group – As much as I love the online writing community, I think it would be a good idea to extend that to actual living people, like, in the flesh…you know?  I’ve found one locally which meets next week.  This will be my first writers’ group and I’m quite nervous about it. I’ve read a lot of horror stories about these types of meetings, so I hope this won’t be one of them.

  2. Write a plot outline for my novel in preparation for NaNoWriMo – This is going to be the little rascal that looks all sweet and innocent and relatively simple to achieve, but will slyly evade me each day in the shadows until the deadline arrives and I realise another month has gone by and I just haven’t done it.  NaNoWriMo is the kind of motivational push (translation: violent shove) I need to just get the major project on its way, but this goal is so that when November 1st comes around, I don’t find myself sitting for hours chewing my pencil with a confused look on my face as I watch my fellow NaNoWriMo participants overtake me at great speed.

  3. Continue my daily blogging prowess – I have so far managed to write a post a day *applause*, hopefully not boring the pants off anyone too much…not yet anyway.  However, I have it under good authority that no post is better than a piece of garbage post that results in comments such as “yawn” or, “There’s two minutes of my life I’ll never get back”.  I’m too fragile to deal with such a tragedy, and so I’m willing to waver this goal if artistic absence demands it.

Anyone else have any writing goals for National Young Writers Month?  Registration is free on their website http://www.expressmedia.org.au/nywm/.

~storytelling nomad~

9 comments on “Go Go Gadget, Write!

  1. Good luck! I have been wanting to join a “real” writing community for some time but I haven’t been in the same place long enough. I think my goal is to find a place to stay long-term, and then join a writing group!

  2. Yes, this has been my issue for some time too! But I thought seeing as I will probably never stay in one place long enough, then I might as well just do it anyway and make use of the time I have. Then again, this ambition might be short lived pending how it all goes next week!

  3. Good luck, with all your goals.

    I am glad to hear that you found a writing group to join. This is something I have also been considering for a while, I think I need the ‘real life’ interaction, but I have not been able to find one where I live that looks appealing as of yet. As for your outline and daily blogging, just keep your eye on the prize and write as much as you can when the inspiration is there, you seem to be doing an awesome job with your blogging so I don’t think you will have anything to worry about!

    Cheers!

    • Thank you! I really appreciate your feedback. It’s nice to know when your posts aren’t just being sucked up in the black hole that is the internet. As for writing groups, I hear ya. However, it was a relatively easy choice for me…especially considering there is only one group in town!
      Again, thanks for your encouragement. I can’t really back out of it now seeing as I’ve told everyone about it! Ah the benefits of blogging :)

  4. Thanks for “liking” my post today. It really is nice to have a little feedback. I am two days into my blogging journey and it is nice to see that I might just get there in the end.

    I am less of a creative writer than you are, but as with most writers I do have a novel on the go. Perhaps that will be a blog of the future! I am sure you will do well in your writer’s group. there is nothing like sharing your words with like-minded people. It is a scary thought but so worthwhile.

    All the best
    Megan

    • No problem! I’m interested in following how it all goes with the Adsense side of things. I wondered how viable it might be to make money from a blog but am rather reluctant if it means bombarding readers with third party promotions. So I’d keen to see how it works out for you. And your blog of the future I’m sure would be well received!
      Scariness aside, I am looking forward to being amongst ‘my own,’ so to speak, with the writers’ group.
      Thanks for stopping by Megan!
      Cheers,
      Katy

  5. Every few months, I get a bit of inspiration from an NPR story on NaNoWriMo and how a writer stuck it out for a month and voila! all of a sudden they have a novel. I get it in my head that I’ll do the same thing, on my own terms, in my own time.

    After all, 1,500 words a day isn’t so much, and all it takes is a little focus, right? As long as I don’t have to think about where the story might come from…

    I’ll do it. Maybe not this week, and maybe not the next, but there’s a tangible goal there, and even if I’m not so diligent with my daily blogging, I’ll get it written. Thanks for the motivational push/violent shove.

    • Admittedly, there’s a great possibility that I’m setting myself up for some major disappointment here, but at the end of the day I figure I might as well give it a go. I realise that not everyone writes the same, and obviously 50,000 words in a month is not for everyone. I like to write in big chunks, not spend hours on a paragraph before I move on to the next, so I have an inkling that NaNoWriMo might suit me…and then again it may not at all. Like you say 1500 words a day isn’t so much, but if there’s no inspiration or idea then I can imagine it would be a trial indeed.
      All the best with yours…a tangible goal is better than none at all and I hope the violent shove helps a little!

  6. Pingback: On non-existent plots and an ill-fated writing goal « storytelling nomad

Leave a Reply

