Bones of the wicked

I had a crack at the Word Pool exercise I mentioned earlier in the week (see Stuck for Ideas?).

Bones of the wicked

I smile. He laughs.
We dance in the night.
We fly with the angels,
The stars in our sight.

But darkness remains.
He shouts. I cry.
He conceals the evil,
The truth. The lie.

I tremble. He sniggers.
I fall to the floor.
My body is heavy,
It serves me no more.

The shadows, they threaten.
He tenses. I’m rigid.
In him I discovered,
The bones of the wicked.

My pool of words were:

Void
Existence
Energy
Light
Bone
Art
Courage
Intelligence
Affection
Hate
Skate
Hollow
Wicked
Laugh
Tremble
Shatter
Bake
Cool

And my combinations:

Courage is skating
Energy laughs
A hollow intelligence
The void trembles
A cool existence
Hate’s light
Bones of the wicked
Affection bakes
Shattered light
Void art

~storytelling nomad~

8 comments on “Bones of the wicked

  1. No words just action exposing who he is and how she reacts. Even when he shouts, a sound.

    The built up felt like a dance, something wild, and at the end, exhaustion but not relief.

    Love the term hollow intelligence.

    • I’ve always been a bit scared of writing poems, so receiving feedback is great, thank you.
      Actually, I loved Hollow Intelligence too, and wrote a short paragraph for that one first. But this one turned out better I think. Thanks for stopping by :)

  2. Pingback: Last Night, Death Came. « storytelling nomad

Leave a Reply

